Keeping in Touch

Sunday 18th April 2021 – Third Sunday of Easter
Sunday 11th April 2021 – Second Sunday of Easter


Keeping Holy Week at Home: Maundy Thursday and Good Friday

Sunday 28th March 2021 – Palm Sunday
Sunday 21st March 2021 – Passion Sunday
Sunday 14th March 2021 – Mothering Sunday
Sunday 7th March 2021 – Lent 3
Sunday 28th February 2021 – Lent 2
Sunday 21st February 2021- Lent 1
Second Sunday before Lent
Sunday 31st January 2021- Candlemas
Sunday 24th January 2021 – Epiphany 3
Sunday 17th January 2021 – Epiphany 2
Baptism of Jesus
Epiphany 2020
Sunday 20th December 2020 – Fourth Sunday of Advent Honeypot – this Year’s charity
Sunday 13th December 2020 – Third Sunday of Advent
Sunday 6th December – Second Sunday of Advent
Sunday 29th November
Sunday 22nd November 2020
Sunday 15th November 2020
Sunday 8th November 2020
Sunday 1st November 2020
Sunday 25th October 2020
Sunday 18th October 2020
Sunday 11th October 2020 – Harvest
Sunday 4th October 2020 – Dedication
Sunday 27th September 2020
Sunday 20th September 2020
Sunday 13th September 2020
Sunday 6th September 2020
Sunday 30th August 2020
Sunday 23rd August 2020
Sunday 16th August 2020
Sunday 9th August 2020
Sunday 2nd August 2020
Sunday 26th July 2020
Sunday 19th July 2020
Sunday 12th July 2020
Sunday 5th July 2020
Sunday 27th June 2020
Sunday 20th June 2020
Sunday 14th June 2020
Sunday 7th June 2020
Sunday 31st May 2020
Sunday 24th May 2020
Sunday 17th May 2020
Sunday 10th May 2020
Sunday 3rd May 2020
Sunday 26th April 2020
Sunday 19th April 2020
Palm Sunday

Suggested activities

  • Read the Matthean Passion narrative. A form of this narrative which can be used in a sequence of times and places in the home has been shared by Bishop David Wilbourne and may be helpful for wider use. The national Precentors’ Network is also recording a Passion for online sharing.
  • Make your own ‘palm’ cross out of paper or card (video/notes to explain how).
  • Families/households: make your own cross out of paper or card, and blu-tack to window

National initiatives

  • A pre-recorded Palm Sunday Eucharist with the Bishop of Manchester will be released.
  • ++Justin will publish a reflection on Facebook/website.

Maundy Thursday:

  • The Walking the Way of the Cross reflections (by Paula Gooder, Stephen Cottrell, and Philip North) may be used, either as a devotion or a start for Bible study.
  • Other forms of Bible study (Mark 14.22-26, Luke 22.14-23, 1 Corinthians 11.23-25?).
  • Washing each other’s hands
  • Making bread, or dough twisters, with a grace about Jesus being the living bread.

National initiatives

–              ++Justin will publish a reflection on Facebook/website.

Good Friday

Suggested activities

  • Dramatic reading of the Johannine Passion narrative.

National initiatives

–              ++Justin will publish a reflection on Facebook/website.

Holy Saturday

Suggested activities

  • Preparing an Easter garden (whether using plants or as a craft activity); preparing and painting Easter eggs.
  • Making a donation to an appropriate charity.
  • Observing the Easter Vigil in some form at home (either here or early on Sunday). Some networks are planning recorded or live-streamed vigils with wide participation.

National initiatives

–              ++Justin will pray the Exultet, offering some reflections on ‘waiting in hope’:

–              ++Justin will publish a reflection on Facebook/website.

Easter Day

Suggested activities

  • Practising spiritual communion as this is a day on which all ought otherwise to receive Holy Communion in church.
  • Lighting a candle at dawn using the following prayer:

Christ yesterday and today, the beginning and the end, Alpha and Omega, all time belongs to him, and all ages; to him be glory and power, through every age and for ever. Amen.

  • Joining in with the ‘Sing Resurrection’ initiative from CTBI, which encourages everyone to sing the hymns Jesus Christ is risen today and Thine be the glory outdoors at 10 am.

National initiatives

–              The BBC will broadcast ++Justin’s Easter Day service, with the Bishop of Dover

–              ++Justin will publish a reflection on Facebook/website.

Spiritual Communion

Keeping in Touch – 26th March 2020